Leading the way in footwear, student designers jubilate over their victory at this year’s awards.


Image Credit – Photographer Mark Witter

Boasting a history that spans close to five hundred years The Clothworkers hall enriched in tradition has encouraged events that continue to exemplify excellence such as the The Cordwainers Footwear Student of the Year Awards held in London on Thursday 7th June, with over 200 guests including footwear students, industry influencers and Cordwainer members attending to celebrate the best upcoming shoe designers in the UK.

The inspirational keynote speech from top international footwear designer Camilla Elphick, and award-winning designers of the stunning new winner’s trophy, Yunus & Eliza, presented at the event honoured how essential this award is in supporting the growth of the young designers and the recognition of each designers talent as they move into industry. Previous winner Camilla Elphick concluded “It is so important to nurture and support the raw talent of UK-based footwear design students, as they are the future not only of the British footwear industry, but also innovators of footwear design on a global scale.”



Reporting how difficult it was to choose the winner at this years event, the judges had the gruelling task of deciding who would take home the trophy, and with such an exceptional amount of talented conceptual designs at this awards, it was the prestigious London College Of Fashion Student Barbara Fidler taking first place with her designs derived from vintage military and workwear garment shoes.

The Worshipful Company of Cordwainers launched the National Footwear Student of the Year Awards in 2014 to support the future of the shoe industry and to celebrate and encourage young footwear talent An award that has already seen previous winners making their mark in the industry and using their prize money to fund further education in footwear design or start their own footwear design business and we hope to continue to see The Cordwainers Footwear Student of the Year Awards bring even greater designers to the footwear industry.


Image Credit – Photographer Mark Witter

1st Prize:                           Barbara Fidler London College of Fashion
2nd Prize:                         Yunfei Ma London College of Fashion
3rd Prize:                          Edina McClelland De Montfort University
Commendation 1:          Orla O’Hagan De Montfort University
Commendation 2:          Xiaoyue Wei London College of Fashion
Commendation 3:          Joseph Ling De Montfort University